top of page
My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Moisture: Icing for the Skin

Moisturizing. This is my FAVORITE part of skin care. It's like putting soft vanilla icing on a sweet cupcake. You see, our skin is like a light airy cupcake. The cake part is vital and needs to taste good , however the icing is equally important & makes or breaks the cupcake. What does this have to do with skin? Well... Honestly, I'm trying to make an analogy with my FAVORITE dessert . So, in other words, its always a good thing to have clean skin (cake), however moisturizing( icing) is very important in keeping your epidermis soft & healthy. So, both clean skin and mositurizing make a perfect combination. Like a cupcake. Make sense? Cake...Icing? Get it? Yes? I knew you would!

Anyways, our skin needs moisture everday. Some of us (like me) need to moisturize several times a day. Let me tell you, if I only moisturized my skin once a day, my skin would start tightening up and becomes sore. Skin that is well moisturized tends to be silky to the touch and radiates a delicate glow to the eyes.

Unmoisturized skin looks dry, dull and for naturally dry skinned people; it increases the risk of wrinkles!

Below I am going to share with you what my face and body loves to drink up. Here we glow!

Coconut Oil & Water

These two items have transformed my rough skin into a pillow of silk.

* Product Info below

Routine for Overall Skin Hyrdation:

1) Make sure skin is damp with water. What I like to do is pat dry after a shower and

2) Apply the coconut oil 2-3 minutes after the shower. The skin's pores are open after a hot shower or bath so applying the oil after the cleansing of the skin seals in the moisture of the water; while adding extra moisture from the oil. This hydration process will leave your skin feeling soft and delicate to the touch. You can also mix the oil with a hydrating lotion. Works just as well. Now, like any other routine, this must become a habit in order to see results.

  • Oh and there is no need to use a big handful of the oil . A little goes a long way. I'm sure you don't want to leave oil imprints of your thighs everywhere you go!

**Bonus: Pure Virgin Coconut Oil will not clog your pores and give you those tiny breakouts that everyone loves( said no one ever). It au natural moisturizer that is free from harsh chemicals and loaded with just...coconut. :)

Hydration for Face: Similar to the overall skin hydration: In the morning and evening, I cleanse my face( Check out my "No Facial Soap? There's Hope" Blog). Sometimes I pat it 50% dry or I will completely let it air dry. With my face still damp, I apply about a penny sized dollop of oil; making sure to rub it between my fingers first. I concentrate on the areas of my face that are prone to flakyness and peeling.

Oily Skin/Combination Skin: I recommend using a lotion type moisturizer mixed with a very small amount of coconut oil. If you do not have this type of mositurizer, use a small amount of oil.

** Bonus: Pure Virgin coconut oil is GREAT for smoothing out skin complexion. My face has always had drastic uneven tones. I was so happy to see my uneven skin tones fading out and transforming into a palette of smoothness!

I got my coconut oil from Marshalls, sometimes I go to TJMAXX( they are related companies). It was pretty cheap. The oils range from 3.99-7.99. IMPORTANT:Make sure to get UNREFINED oil. Unrefined has all the nutrients that are good for the body. In REFINED oil, all the vitamins and nutrients have been pressed out- and unhealthy junk is sometimes added. Gotta keep your cupcake nicely iced ( had to slip that in there) :)

Happy Moisturizing!

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page